Otto Penzler Presents American Mystery Classics

American Mystery Classics is Penzler Publishers’s inaugural imprint, dedicated to reissuing classic American mystery fiction in new hardcover and paperback editions. The books are distributed by W. W. Norton.

With titles by greats including Ellery Queen, Mary Roberts Rinehart, and Dorothy B. Hughes out now, and books by Erle Stanley Gardner, Charlotte Armstrong, and John Dickson Carr in 2019, the series promises to bring back the very best of the genre for both longtime fans and readers new to the period; it will also feature less well-known but no less excellent novels from masters including Clayton Rawson, Craig Rice, Stuart Palmer, and H. F. Heard.

Each book has been personally selected by Otto Penzler, whose more than forty years of experience as an editor, critic, publisher, and bookseller brings an unparalleled expertise to the line. Check out some of our featured titles below!

Forthcoming TitlesClick here to see our Summer & Fall 2019 Catalog


Now Available!